Archive for the Category » African Countries «


Algeria flagAlgeria is the largest country in Africa. Algeria lies in northern Africa along the Mediterranean Sea. It is bordered by Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Tunisia, and Western Sahara. Algiers, Algeria’s capital and largest city, lies next to the Mediterranean Sea.... Read More


Angola flagAngola <<an GOH luh>> is a country on the southwest coast of Africa. An area called Cabinda is a part of Angola, but the Congo River and part of another country separate Cabinda from the rest of Angola. Luanda, Angola’s capital and largest city, is a major seaport.... Read More


Benin flagBenin <<beh NEEN>> is a country on the west coast of Africa. It is bordered by Togo on the west, Burkina Faso on the northwest, Niger on the north, Nigeria on the east, and the Gulf of Guinea on the south. The coast of Benin is flat and sandy. Farther inland, the land is covered with forests. Porto-Novo is the capital, but Cotonou, the largest city, is the business center.... Read More


Botswana flagBotswana <<boh TSWAH nah>> is a country in the center of southern Africa. It is bordered by Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Gaborone is the capital and largest city. Botswana was ruled by Great Britain from the late 1800′s until the country became independent in 1966. Today, Botswana has a democratic form of government, which means the people vote to elect their leaders.... Read More

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso flagBurkina Faso <<bur KEE nuh FAH soh>> is a country in western Africa. It lies between Mali on the north and west and Niger on the east. Benin, Togo, Ghana, and Côte d’Ivoire are on the south. Ouagadougou, its capital, is the largest city.... Read More


Burundi flagBurundi <<buh RUHN dee>> is a country in east-central Africa. It is bounded on the north by Rwanda. Tanzania lies to the east and south. To the west are Lake Tanganyika and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Bujumbura is the capital city.... Read More


Cameroon flagCameroon <<KAM uh ROON>> is a country on the west coast of Africa. It borders the Central African Republic, Chad, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Nigeria, the Republic of the Congo, and the Atlantic Ocean. The people of Cameroon are divided into about 200 different groups. Yaoundé is the country’s capital.... Read More

Cape Verde

Cape Verde flagCape Verde <<kayp VURD>> is a country made up of 10 large islands and 5 small islands. It lies in the Atlantic Ocean off the west coast of Africa. São Tiago is the biggest island. Praia, the capital and largest city of Cape Verde, is on São Tiago.... Read More

Central African Republic

Central African RepublicThe Central African Republic is a country in the middle of Africa. Most of the land is high, grassy flatland or rolling hills. Rain forests grow in the south, and desertlike land spreads across the north. The country has no seacoast. It shares borders with Cameroon, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Republic of the Congo, South Sudan, and Sudan. The port of Bangui on the Ubangi River is the capital and largest city of the Central African Republic.... Read More


Chad flagChad is a large country in the middle of northern Africa. Libya lies to the north, Sudan is to the east, and the Central African Republic is to the south. Niger, Nigeria, and Cameroon are to the west. Chad is one of the world’s poorest nations. It has few factories, few good roads, and no railroads at all. The people are called Chadians. Most speak their own African languages, though French and Arabic are the official languages.... Read More