Archive for the Category » Islands «

Christmas Island

Christmas Island is an Australian territory within the Indian Ocean. It lies about 1,553 miles (2,500 kilometers) northwest of Perth. The island is about 12 miles (20 kilometers) lengthy. It’s about 9 miles (15 kilometers) extensive. Its essential business is phosphate mining. Most of its individuals are Chinese language or Malays.... Read More

Cheju Island

Cheju Island (pop. 543,323), additionally spelled Jeju, is a volcanic island off the southern coast of South Korea. The island is a province of South Korea. The town of Cheju, on the island’s northern coast, is the province’s capital.... Read More

Channel Islands

The Channel Islands are a gaggle of islands within the English Channel. They’re British crown dependencies that lie between 10 and 30 miles (15 and 50 kilometers) off the French coast. Crown dependencies are largely self-governing, however the British authorities handles their protection and overseas affairs. The 4 important islands are Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney, and Sark. The group additionally consists of a number of smaller islands.... Read More

Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands are an abroad territory of the UK. They lie about 200 miles (320 kilometers) northwest of Jamaica within the Caribbean Sea. The three islands that type the group, Grand Cayman, Little Cayman, and Cayman Brac, cowl a hundred and one sq. miles (262 sq. kilometers). The capital and largest metropolis, George City, lies on Grand Cayman, the most important island. Taxes are extraordinarily low within the Cayman Islands. Consequently, many corporations from different lands conduct enterprise there.... Read More

Caroline Islands

The Caroline Islands are a gaggle of greater than 930 islands within the Pacific Ocean. They lie simply north of the equator. They’re between the Marshall Islands and the Philippines. The island group extends greater than 2,000 miles (three,200 kilometers). The mixed land space of the Carolines is simply 448 sq. miles (1,161 sq. kilometers).... Read More

Caribbean Islands

The Caribbean Islands lie between the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. The islands stretch about 2,000 miles (three,200 kilometers) from close to southern Florida in the USA to northern Venezuela in South America.... Read More

Canary Islands

The Canary Islands make up two provinces of Spain. This group of thirteen islands lies within the Atlantic Ocean, about 60 miles (ninety seven kilometers) off the northwest coast of mainland Africa. The province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife consists of the islands of Tenerife, La Palma, Gomera, and Hierro. The capital additionally known as Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Las Palmas province consists of Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, and Fuerteventura. Its capital is Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.... Read More

Bu Tinah Shoals

The Bu Tinah Shoals are a gaggle of coral islands and sea-grass beds within the Persian Gulf. The shoals lie about eighty miles (one hundred thirty kilometers) west of Abu Dhabi, the capital of the United Arab Emirates. Bu Tinah’s principal island has a sheltered lagoon forested with mangrove timber.... Read More


Borneo <<BAWR nee oh>> is the world’s third largest island. It covers about 287,000 sq. miles (743,330 sq. kilometers). Solely Greenland and New Guinea are bigger. Borneo lies about four hundred miles (640 kilometers) east of Singapore. About three-fourths of Borneo is a part of Indonesia. The nation of Brunei and a part of Malaysia take up the remainder of the island.... Read More


Bonaire is an island within the Caribbean. It lies about 50 miles (eighty kilometers) north of Venezuela within the Caribbean Sea. Klein Bonaire is a tiny island about half a mile (zero.eight kilometer) west of Bonaire. The 2 islands have a mixed space of 114 sq. miles (294 sq. kilometers). Bonaire is an abroad municipality of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Its political standing is just like that of a Dutch metropolis. Bonaire’s capital is Kralendijk.... Read More