Archive for the Category » Asian Countries «


Afghanistan flagAfghanistan is a country in southwestern Asia. The land is covered with mountains and deserts, valleys and plains. Afghanistan has no seacoast. It borders the countries of Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan on the north and China on the far northeast. Pakistan lies to the east and south. Iran lies to the west. Kabul is the capital and largest city of Afghanistan.... Read More


Armenia flagArmenia is a country in southwestern Asia. It lies in the Caucasus Mountains. It is bordered by Azerbaijan, Iran, Turkey, and Georgia. Yerevan is the capital and largest city.... Read More


Azerbaijan flagAzerbaijan <<AH zuhr by JAHN>> is a country in southwestern Asia. It is in the Caucasus Mountain region. It lies on the western shore of the Caspian Sea. Azerbaijan is bordered by Armenia, Georgia, Iran, and Russia. One area of Azerbaijan, called the Naxcivan Autonomous Republic, is separated from the rest of the country by land that belongs to Armenia. Baku, Azerbaijan’s capital, is also the country’s largest city.... Read More


Bangladesh flagBangladesh <<BAHNG gluh DEHSH>> is a country in South Asia. It was once part of Pakistan. Bangladesh is bordered by Myanmar on the southeast, and by India on three sides. The southern border of Bangladesh lies along the Bay of Bengal. The Bay of Bengal is the northern part of the Indian Ocean. Dhaka is the nation’s capital and largest city. In population, Bangladesh is one of the largest countries in the world.... Read More


Bhutan flagBhutan <<boo TAHN>> is a small country in south-central Asia. It is bordered by Tibet, a part of China, on the north and by India on the south. The rugged mountains of the Himalaya cover much of Bhutan. Plains stretch across the south. The town of Thimphu is the capital of the country.... Read More


Brunei flagBrunei <<BROO ny>> is a tropical country in Southeast Asia. It lies on the north coast of the island of Borneo. It borders the country of Malaysia.... Read More


Cambodia flagCambodia <<kam BOH dee uh>> is a small country in Southeast Asia. It is sometimes called Kampuchea <<KAM poo CHEE uh>>. Cambodia borders the Gulf of Thailand and countries of Laos, Thailand, and Vietnam. Phnom Penh is the capital of Cambodia.... Read More


China-flagChina is a huge country in eastern Asia. It is bordered on the north by Russia and Mongolia and on the east by the Pacific Ocean. On the south and southwest it is bordered by Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, Bhutan, Nepal, India, and Pakistan. On the west it is bordered by Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Kazakhstan.... Read More


Cyprus flagCyprus <<SY pruhs>> is an island country in the northeast corner of the Mediterranean Sea. It lies about 40 miles (64 kilometers) south of Turkey. Nicosia <<NIHK uh SEE uh>> is the capital and largest city.... Read More

East Timor

East Timor flagEast Timor <<tee MAWR>> is a small country in Southeast Asia. It is sometimes called Timor-Leste. It makes up the eastern side of the island of Timor. This island lies in the Timor Sea, about 300 miles (480 kilometers) north of Australia. Dili is East Timor’s capital and largest city. The country’s official name is the Democratic Republic of East Timor.... Read More