Brisbane <<BRIHZ bayn or BRIHZ buhn>> is the state capital and business middle of Queensland, Australia. It lies within the southeastern nook of Queensland, alongside the Brisbane River close to the Pacific Ocean.

 Brisbane is the most important metropolis in Queensland and one of many largest cities in Australia. It’s a busy river port and a thriving middle of producing and commerce.

Brisbane was established as a jail colony in 1825. The town and the river that runs by way of it have been named for Sir Thomas Brisbane, who was the governor of New South Wales when Brisbane was established. The British authorities eliminated the convicts from Brisbane in 1839 and formally opened the world to free settlers in 1842. In 1859, a part of New South Wales turned the self-governing colony of Queensland, and Brisbane was chosen as its capital.

This entry was posted in Australian Cities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *