Canberra is the capital metropolis of Australia. The town lies inside the Australian Capital Territory in southeastern Australia.

 Canberra is constructed round a number of hills on rolling plains. The Molonglo River flows via the town. A dam on the river types Lake Burley Griffin within the central a part of the town. The lake divides Canberra into two sections. The northern part consists of the enterprise middle of Canberra, the town corridor, the Australian Nationwide College, and the College of Canberra. The southern part consists of the assembly place of Australia’s Parliament, the Nationwide Gallery of Australia, and the Nationwide Library of Australia.

Australian Aborigines have been the primary individuals to reside in Australia. Their ancestors settled within the Canberra space no less than 21,000 years in the past. In 1820, British explorers turned the primary individuals from Europe to succeed in the world.

The Commonwealth of Australia was established in 1901. In 1908, the Australian authorities chosen Canberra as the location for the nationwide capital.

This entry was posted in Australian Cities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *