Micronesia, Federated States of

Micronesia flagFederated States of Micronesia (FSM) is a rustic within the North Pacific Ocean. It’s made up of 607 islands within the Caroline Island group. The FSM has 4 states which might be named for the most important islands: Chuuk, Kosrae, Pohnpei, and Yap. Palikir, on the island of Pohnpei, is the nation’s capital metropolis.

The FSM has two sorts of islands. Some islands have mountains and volcanoes. The opposite islands are ring-formed islands referred to as atolls. The soil on the volcanic islands is sweet for farming. Swamps lie alongside the shores, and thick rain forests cowl the valleys. The atolls have poor soil and only a few crops.

Many individuals within the FSM make a dwelling by fishing and farming. Most of the individuals are Carolinians, also referred to as Micronesians, and a few have Polynesian backgrounds. The official language of the FSM is English. Nevertheless, most individuals use their very own space’s languages.

Micronesia mapMost FSM individuals stay in nation areas, however the previous methods of life are altering shortly. Many Carolinians are taking over the methods of life of the United States.

Individuals have lived in what’s now the FSM for greater than three,000 years. From 1885 to 1945, Spain, Germany, and Japan managed the islands at totally different occasions. The United States took over the islands in 1945. In 1986, the FSM turned an unbiased nation. However the United States continues to be answerable for protection of the FSM.

This entry was posted in Pacific Countries and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *