BessarabiaBessarabia, «BEHS uh RAY bee uh», is a area in southeastern Europe. It covers 17,147 sq. miles (forty four,411 sq. kilometers). It occupies elements of Moldova and Ukraine. Bessarabia is bordered by the Dniester River on the north and east. The Black Sea and Danube River are on the south. Its western border is the Prut River. Northern Bessarabia is a fertile highland. River valleys minimize by way of the central hilly part. Plains and swamps cowl the southern space. Most of Bessarabia’s individuals are Bulgarian, Moldovan, Russian, or Ukrainian farmers.

In 1812, Russia gained Bessarabia from the Ottoman Empire. This empire was based mostly in what’s now Turkey. Southern Bessarabia was given to Moldavia in 1856, on the finish of the Crimean Warfare (1853-1856). Russia regained the area in 1878. After World Conflict I (1914-1918), Romania managed Bessarabia till 1940. Then the Soviet Union seized the area throughout World Conflict II (1939-1945). Romania reoccupied Bessarabia in 1941, however the Soviet Union regained it in 1944. Bessarabia then turned a part of the Moldavian and Ukrainian republics. These have been a part of the Soviet Union. The Moldavian Republic was renamed the Moldovan Republic in 1990. After the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991, Moldova and Ukraine turned unbiased nations.

This entry was posted in Regions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *