Central America

Central AmericaCentral America is the slender bridge of land that hyperlinks North America with South America. It’s a part of the continent of North America. There are seven nations in Central America. They’re Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama. Central America covers an space of about 201,000 sq. miles (521,000 sq. kilometers).

Central America is heat and moist, with many thick forests. Alongside the coasts, the land is usually flat. Mountains, rivers, and lakes lie farther inland. Earthquakes and the eruptions of volcanoes typically hurt villages and cities.

About forty one million individuals reside in Central America. Some are American Indians. Others are combined Indian and European. And a few individuals are primarily African or European. Most individuals converse Spanish. The official language in Belize is English. Many Indians additionally converse their very own tribal language.

Many Central People reside on small farms. Giant farms referred to as plantations develop espresso and bananas. Some individuals earn cash by mining and slicing timber for lumber.

The Maya Indians constructed an incredible tradition in Central America greater than 1,000 years in the past. Spain took over a lot of the area between 1501 and 1525. Within the 1820’s, the Spanish colonies gained their freedom. The British settled in what’s now Belize within the 1600’s. They dominated it from 1862 till 1981.

Numerous wars have been fought in Central America. At present, Central American nations work collectively by way of the Group of American States. It’s a group of 35 nations from North, Central, and South America. It really works for peace and cooperation amongst its members.

This entry was posted in Regions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *