Valletta <<vahl LEHT tah>> is the capital and chief seaport of Malta, an island nation within the Mediterranean Sea. The town lies on Malta’s northeast coast. Valletta is the executive, cultural, and business middle of Malta. The Cathedral of Saint John and the Palace of the Grand Masters are among the many metropolis’s sights.

Valletta turned the capital of Malta in 1571. It had been based about 5 years earlier. Valletta was named for Jean Parisot de la Valette, grand grasp of the Knights of Malta, a spiritual and army order. The British maintained a naval base at Valletta from the early 1800’s till 1979.

This entry was posted in European Cities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *