United States capitals

The United States capitals are the locations the place the federal government of the United States has been based mostly. The capital metropolis at present is Washington, D.C. However the U.S. authorities didn’t transfer to Washington, D.C., till 1800. Earlier than that point, the nation’s authorities met in many various locations.

 The nation’s first lawmaking physique was referred to as the Continental Congress. It first met in Philadelphia in 1774, simply earlier than the American Revolution (1775-1783). British troops captured Philadelphia in 1777, forcing the Congress to flee. The official seat of presidency moved a number of occasions between 1777 and 1784. The Continental Congress turned the Congress of the Confederation in 1781. It settled in New York Metropolis in 1785. The United States Congress was shaped in 1789. It met in Philadelphia from 1790 to 1800. Then the federal government moved to Washington, D.C.

This entry was posted in United States Cities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *