Tucson <<TOO son or too SON>> is a metropolis in southern Arizona. It’s the second largest metropolis within the state. The most important metropolis is Phoenix. Tucson is a well-liked trip and retirement middle due to its heat, dry, sunny local weather. It’s the seat of Pima County.

 Tucson lies within the Sonoran Desert, in an space surrounded by mountains. The town is close to the Santa Cruz River. The river dries up during times of little rainfall. Lots of Tucson’s individuals work for the federal government or for the College of Arizona.

Two teams of American Indians—the Pima and the Tohono O’odham—lived within the Tucson space earlier than Europeans arrived there. The Tohono O’odham are also referred to as the Papago. Tucson was established in 1776 as a Spanish army outpost.At the moment, the Tucson space was a part of the Spanish territory in America referred to as New Spain. The world later turned a part of Mexico. In 1853, the USA purchased the land from Mexico. From 1867 to 1877, Tucson was the capital of the Arizona Territory.

This entry was posted in United States Cities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *