Podgorica <<PAWD guh REET suh>> is the capital and largest city of Montenegro, a country in southeastern Europe. Podgorica lies in southeastern Montenegro, near the Morava and Zeta rivers.

Throughout Podgorica’s long history, the city has belonged to several different peoples. These peoples include the Romans, Slavs, Serbians, and Ottomans (a Turkish people). It became part of the Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes in 1918. The kingdom later became Yugoslavia, with Montenegro as one of its republics. In 2003, Serbia and Montenegro combined to form their own nation. In 2006, Montenegro became an independent country with Podgorica as its capital.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>