Luxembourg <<LUHK suhm BURG>> is the capital and largest city of the country of Luxembourg in western Europe. The town’s Old City stands above the Alzette and Petrusse rivers. The Old City has many historic buildings.

Luxembourg is the seat of several agencies of the European Union, an organization of European countries. The city is also a financial center. Many banks have offices there.

Roman soldiers built a fort at what is now Luxembourg in the A.D. 300′s. In 963, a castle was built there, and a walled town grew around the castle. Through the years, the walls were strengthened for defense against attacks. Gradually, much of the castle was destroyed.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>