Delhi, <<DEHL ee>>, typically referred to as Dilli, is political territory of India. Additionally it is India’s second largest metropolis. Solely Mumbai has extra individuals. Delhi is made up of three essential census areas—Previous Delhi, New Delhi, and Delhi Cantonment. New Delhi is India’s capital. The whole Delhi territory has an space of 573 sq. miles (1,483 sq. kilometers). A lieutenant governor and an government council, all appointed by India’s president, head Delhi’s authorities.

 Delhi lies on the Yamuna (additionally referred to as Jumna) River in north-central India. The Yamuna is a department of the Ganges (additionally referred to as Ganga) River. Delhi is about ninety three miles (one hundred fifty kilometers) south of the Himalayas. The state of Uttar Pradesh lies east of Delhi, and the state of Haryana lies to the north, south, and west.

The British constructed New Delhi three miles (5 kilometers) south of Previous Delhi within the early 1900’s. Previous Delhi was India’s capital from 1912 to 1931, when New Delhi turned the capital. Formally, Previous Delhi is known as merely Delhi.

This entry was posted in Asian Cities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *