Darwin is the capital of Australia’s Northern Territory. The town lies on Australia’s northern coast on the Beagle Gulf, an arm of the Timor Sea.

 Darwin is the Northern Territory’s chief port. Its deepwater harbor handles many forms of ships and cargo. Darwin’s nearness to Asia makes it an essential hyperlink between that continent and Australia. Many immigrants from Asian nations have settled within the metropolis.

The primary group of European settlers arrived in Darwin in 1869. The settlement was named Palmerston, after Viscount Palmerston, a former British prime minister. Till 1911, the state of South Australia ruled the Northern Territory and Palmerston. In 1911, the Australian federal authorities assumed management of the Northern Territory and altered Palmerston’s identify to Darwin in honor of the British naturalist Charles Darwin.

This entry was posted in Australian Cities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *